July 1, 2014

  • Well… there go all my regular craft supply stores.

    The Hobby Lobby debate has started. And the controversial ruling of the Senate with regards to Hobby Lobby’s ‘closely held’ interests in their chain. What does that even mean.

    When I first heard the news, I thought to myself, “Wow…. well… Okay.” Then i figured to myself, I don’t want to make a scene, I’m just going to discreetly stop shopping at the Hobby Lobby because I didn’t really care for the way they wielded their religion as a way to get out of a law enacted that protects women health and controls pregnancy.

    Then other people started putting up their opinions on facebook and the more I tried to see their perspectives, the more irritated I got.

    On the surface level, (Since I don’t know what was actaully said during the hearing, and I acknowledge that it could have very well been a very compelling reason BESIDES religious freedom that the Senate would rule in HL’s favor) it is this, “Woman’s rights to healthcare and BC” vs “Religious freedom”.

    Hey, I’m all for Religious freedom and that shit. I believe what I do, I don’t get into any sort of legal trouble because of it. You can’t arrest me for marrying a non-christian. You can’t arrest me for going to church and drinking wine at communion. You can’t arrest me for eating bacon. THIS IS ALL BECAUSE OF RELIGIOUS FREEDOM!  Woot.

    But we’re talking about a business here. A nationally owned business who employs people who are not necessarily all of the same faith as the founders and other ‘closely held’ owners. In that sense, if you DENY your employees BC, then you are in essence, denying them their right to religious freedom.

    I suppose “religious freedom” only applies to those who want to freely practice Christianity.

    In addition to that, I think that religious freedom can only get you so far with regards to ignoring laws… I mean… at what stage will they start arresting people who have mixed plants in their gardens (Leviticus 19:19)? Or even letting people go when they stone an adulterer to death, cause you know, that’s what the bible tells us we should do (Leviticus 20:10). I don’t even believe it is about women’s rights– so much as the use of religion as a way to combat law. I’m mostly upset that things like this make Christianity look bad….

    This isn’t even really a win for religious freedom, just cause it’s law to provide that option to your women workers, doesn’t mean your workers will automatically take it (‘Ooooooo we provided BC so now you’re forced to take it!’). The employees could easily follow their religious guidelines and not take it. If they’re Christian… If they’re not Christian, now they have no option to get BC. Where’s the religious freedom for those non-Christians who want BC?

    Honestly, I could care less that the subject is a woman-centric topic. I just am jaded to this notion that our country wants to be seen as a land of Freedom and simultaneously making it about being a Christian nation.

    Well. Whetever. Back to just discretely stop shopping there. They don’t even really have very exciting products.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories