Month: January 2014

  • I think about you….

    A LOT.

    Okay, not a lot, but I do think about you often. and I wonder sometimes if you think about me too. Oh, yeah, no– I don’t want that friendship back but at the same time, I find great pleasure in discovering what kind of a person you became after me.

    No less angry, I see.

    And I find it strange that I do want to know what kind of life you lived after that nuclear fallout. I mean, at that end there I didn’t want anything to do with you, and not just because every time we spoke, I’d cry– and not just becuase any time I knew you were coming, I’d grow uncommonly hostile.  Shouldn’t your things not matter to me?

    Maybe I think of the past and those people in my past a lot. I do, and I don’t find this uncommon. I keep tabs on friends, many of whom later thank me and say ‘It’s too bad we weren’t closer /back then/’. And I wonder to myself, ‘but I thought that we were closer’.

    Side-tracked.

    What I meant to say when I started this, is:

    “Who else finds other people’s drama interesting? Even if you are no longer (or never were) a part of their lives…”

  • Acceptable Bad Behavior

    So, when did it become acceptable behavior to make plans with someone– only to cancel it the minute your plans were suppose to begin?

    More and more often as I get older I realize that it is so hard to meet up with people in real life any-more; and even though it is so easy to communicate and make those plans, it is more and more common for people to say ‘lets get together’ followed, at the eleventh hour, with ‘I’m going to take a rain check. Sorry’.

    Not that I am totally against the ‘now’ generation decision making. I get it, sometimes things come up last minute. But when it becomes habbit– or expectation; what kind of manners are those. Acceptable, I guess.

    I remember the age before cell phones and texting– when my parents taught me ettiquite, they said you should make plans and hold them. It’s a mark of respect to the people you arrange plans with. I mean… before cell phones, no one would know where you were if you were late, or if you would ever show up.

    Just because you can tell someone where you are or why you can’t come, doesn’t mean you have a good excuse not to come.

Recent Comments

Categories