April 9, 2014

  • Agents of Whedon

    I just got finished watching Agents of Shield episode 1.17 ”Turn Turn Turn’.

    • 1) Called it.
    • 2) Semi-called it, as soon as it got to that point….
    • 3) I really really really admire Joss Whedon’s ability to see good opportunities for unique and often painful stories– and then just taking them.

    Wash’ death for instance. It hurt so much be cause you loved him (come on, admit it everyone) and also because he’s not the type of character that would die. There’s a formula for that– like Book’s character, his death was sad but you kind of expect him to die. Not that I want him to die, but it doesn’t surprise you.

    Well… Whedon always surprises you.

    And he’s pretty much one of the most creative people I don’t know. Really. I love his wit, his ability to see the whole story, the subtle ways he develops people and plot lines… the way he does not hesitate to take painful story twists… Uggh. That’s my favorite, in a love-hate sort of way.

    I think we could be friends. I think that I think like him.

    I guess ever Science fiction fanatic wants to believe that you think like Joss Whedon.

    Greed said to me the other week, “He seemed to get his big break on Avengers. Nothing else was really that big.”

    He never got into Buffy.

    But it’s true. Everyone seems to give Agents of Shield bad flack. Dollhouse had harsh critics there too (though I kind of sympathize with them, since it didn’t really start off on the best footing). And I’m not quite sure why Firefly tanked, but that too didn’t do so hot with the cool crowd.

    Four shows down the line though, I’m begnning to see a pattern in Whedon’s work. And while I really like that he advocates strong female leads, I can’t help but think (and be a bit critical) of Skye as a ‘I’m half-Echo-three-eighths-Willow-and-a-tiny-bit-Buffy’. And also, does the Bus remind any one else as a ‘not as cool but still kinda fun’ Serenity? Just saying…. formulas man.

    Though, enough ranting– I do like the show. I wish Whedon could just… you know… write three TV shows at once. Cause, you know that in his brain, there are a hundred of un-told stories in there.

    <3

    Love you Joss.

     

    Meanwhile, becuase we’re talking about the Whedonverse. Check out this article about a movie he did earlier this year.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories